Sharing My Pharaoh World

Inspired by https://ceenphotography.com/2017/01/30/share-your-world-january-30-2017/

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person?

Out of all the trails/hikes I’ve done in Vegas at Mt. Charleston and Red Rock, as well with around LA the short time I lived there, I feel like they can’t compete with the Bukhansan hike in Seoul, Korea. What I loved about it was that it was so far from
Seoul, but not too far so that Seoul was still visible. I felt like I could easily reach out and flick one of the skyscrapers in the distance and that they would all cascade like an alignment of dominoes. It also was completely different in terms of landscape. The trails I’m used to are more desert like while Bukhansan was a luscious forest. No brown, gray, or orange, and solely green in every which way I turned.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

I’m an only child.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

I would be my magical pair of Lacoste shoes. They’ve lasted for four years, still look great, and people give me compliments on them. Little do they know they’re actually four years old! Extremely curious to see how long they last me as much as I walk and even dance in them. I’m a rave Pharaoh for a reason! I love to shuffle and dance! I’ve thrown out other pairs in the interim that I’ve worn far less, and it seems as if these magic shoes are immortal.

Momma said they were mah magic shoooooes. Mama said they’d take me anywhere! -Forrest Gump

img_4913

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

In Thailand I decided that I would have to eat something pretty crazy. There were these stands which consisted of scorpions, beetles, larvae, and all sorts of insects! When in a new land– embrace it! I bought the scorpion for 20 Baht (~$.60) and put it right in my mouth. It was extremely salty and crunchy and it seemed like I was chewing it for an eternity. A minute later I finally managed to get it down and came to the following conclusion– never eating a scorpion ever again! A side note about Thailand: The street food is extremely cheap and delicious. You get to explore all sorts of different tastes; sweet, spicy, tangy, gooey, milky etc. You can also have a guy machete a coconut for you. I likely drank 5 coconuts/day while I roamed around.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I saw the two friends I’ve known for the longest. I’m 25 and we’ve been friends since 5th and 6th grade respectively. Since I don’t have a car right now my friend Dillon came and picked me up. The car ride to our friends Travis’ was interesting. I wondered why he was taking us the long route. He responded that he doesn’t like to take the same route every time to a destination just because its the fastest way. He said that there are always multiple ways to get to the same destination, and that its more fun to mix it up every now and again. I couldn’t agree more on the logic and thought that it would be great advice to apply to my own life, with regards to more than just driving, of course.

We scooped Travis and and went to Rise and Shine, the best spot for breakfast in Vegas. If you ever visit Vegas check it out! We all may have taken 10 minutes to decide on what to order because everything looked sounded so obscenely delicious, and also because we would get distracted in conversation which prevented us from further examining the menus. Inevitably I decided to switch it up from their signature steak and eggs and try something new. I got this frosted flake pancakes topped with butter pecans. They were heavenly. Was also great reminiscing about all the silly things we did back in middle school or high school and talking about what everyone was doing with their lives now.

When we finished breakfast we went back to Travis’ house and played around on his virtual reality game. By far one of the coolest gaming experiences I’ve had. When I turned from side to side objects would change, and I would go from floating in outer space watching astroids ricochet off one another to the top of a skyscraper in New York. Extremely excited for when virtual reality becomes an industry standard in gaming. So grateful that I’ve managed to keep friends with them for 15 years!!

Afterwards I went on an adventure with one of my other closest friends Michelle. I wanted to cheat on my diet with her like we always do and eat at 5050 pizza bar at Aria as well as Secret Pizza at the Cosmopolitan. The initial idea was to get photos for my post The Magical Slice of Pizza. It was fun being tourists in our own city and taking photos of random things and actually walking the strip. When you’re a Vegas local you rarely actually walk the strip. It was a great exercise in practicing gratitude. The pizza was truly magical as well as the conversation and joy we shared on our walk.

Next week I’m finally jetting off over the pond to Barcelona. I’ve been waiting for this for months while healing my knee and really feel ready to get back out there in the real world. I’m truly grateful for this hopeful career change to becoming a TEFL teacher and acquiring my CELTA certificate! From my interview with one of my course instructors, and watching CELTA videos on youtube, it seems like an extremely intensive yet rewarding experience because of the people I’ll be working with. 5 more days!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sharing My Pharaoh World

Leave a Reply

