Real Neat Blog Award

I was nominated by La Ronda Moore  of So Eye Write. I must admit this nomination means a lot to me. She was one of my first few followers way back a few days before new years ago when I first started my blog. A talented poet and the author of a short story series called He listens. Highly recommend checking out her blog. Thanks for the nomination LaRonda!

The Rules

1. Put the award logo on your blog.
2. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you
3. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

My Answers to LaRonda’s questions

What motivates you to write?

A lot of different things motivate me to write. I would say that the biggest, though, is the desire to explore myself. I originally intended for my blog to be mainly about travel and teaching, but it has become far from that. I like making travel posts, but don’t travel anywhere near as much as I’d like, so the amount I can write about travel is limited. I feel that my true self is reflected the most in The Road of life while traveling, but feel that I discover more about who I am and the type of pictures I create when I write poetry.

I write because I want to connect with the collective self we all share while exploring the universe inside of ‘me’. I feel that poetry is an access gate to a realm of thinking I had never really used. I’ve always had an extremely analytical mind, but it operated mainly concretely. Poetry has allowed me to enter a formless world by connecting dots in different planes without any intersection. Its lovely. I’m motivated to continue writing to continue learning more about myself.

How would you describe your writing style?

I don’t really have a writing style. My poetry has many different forms. Sometimes I write a string of haikus, and others I’ll try to rhyme. I also like the format Eyes and words uses, but am not sure how it would be described. Of all the incredibly talented poets I’ve come across on WordPress his site is my favorite. Thanks for the daily inspiration buddy.

I have no real commitment to any form and just write as I feel like at the time 🙂

What is your greatest accomplishment in writing thus far?

I can’t say I have any crazy accomplishments in writing so far. In almost 5 months I only have 163 followers, and most of my posts get less than 20 likes.

I don’t think writing should ever be objectified, and Im just happy to write and reflect on my writing afterwards. I am happy, though, for the people I’ve met on WordPress. Its such a wonderful community of intelligent, positive, and creative people. There are lots of inspiring poets, world travelers who take spectacular photography, incredible artists, and movie critics that spark my desire to become more of a movie buff than I currently am. I’m grateful for the few followers I do have, and am glad you enjoy my writing. Although I am mainly here for myself as I continue my journey through myself, your support means the world to me and keeps me going.

What are your future goals for your blog?

My goals for my blog are to improve myself as a poet while I continue traveling and inevitably start writing novels. I don’t care how lame this dream is, but dream big! Who’s stopping you? I want to be the next Haruki Murakami. I want to keep writing and writing until I have the courage and commitment to commit to writing 400-500 page novels. I want to touch the lives of others like some of my favorite authors have touched mine. Blogging and writing books are different, but any sort of writing is great practice to strengthen the creative muscles in our minds.


How do you manage your priorities and still maintain your commitment to your blog?

I don’t feel any sort of hierarchy of commitments in my life. I just do as I want when I want. If I want to blog I’ll blog. If I want to binge Netflix and not give a fuck for a few days I’ll do that. I only write when I want to. I try to be consistent with a post a day, but since I’ve started teaching and have just wanted to relax after work that doesn’t happen as often. Other days Ill make three of four posts in a day. It really is about what is going on in my life, the organic situations or feelings that spark a poem, or the adventures I want to share while traveling.

What is your favorite post of all times? Is it also your highest ranked post? If it is or if it isn’t, explain how that makes you feel.

My favorite post of all time is Orbital. It was definitely one of the most painful poems to write. Poetry is most beautiful as an abstraction, so I won’t try to make this more concrete, but it felt really cathartic after I finished and gave me some closure on some things that had always been prying at me in the back of my head. Please check it out if you haven’t yet.

Would you rather have a post get a hundred likes and no comments or ten comments and no likes, explain

Wow, this is a tough one. Good question. I actually feel like sometimes when I read something so beautiful, yet abstract beyond my comprehension I’ll just like without commenting, but when I feel something so profoundly in someone’s writing I always comment. I think I would prefer 10 comments and no likes. Hope you still like my posts though even if you don’t comment after reading this hahaha! Still against objectifying the writing process, but I guess, yeah, there’s my answer.

I nominate the following bloggers! If you don’t do awards don’t feel the need to, whatever’s clever!

Tarnished Soul – Wow my first comment on WordPress was on her blog! A blogger that writes poetry, and like me, is very keen on her journey of self discovery. She is actually a man, but identifies more with her feminine side, and I give all the love and support her way on her journey! Thanks for the support Steph and teaching me how to change what links say, so I could actually do an award hahahah!

Chaos – I would consider this girl obscenely good at poetry. Very dark, but very evocative. What’s also really awesome about her blog is that she can paint and then writes poetry about her paintings. Shit, I wish I could do that instead of aimlessly searching through google images and Pinterest!

Eyes Plus Words– Jake has been one of the most inspirational poets I’ve followed. The photography he chooses for his poetry is spot on, and I find myself saying to myself “wow, that was profound” after each poem. Keep up your amazing work Jake!

Just Me – I’ve recently started following her. I don’t know your name, sorry! You are so talented and I love the randomness of your blog. Some poetry, some life posts, some collaboration. It reminds me of, well, my blog! Really hope you get back into writing short stories because you are phenomenal!

Recently she made a post asking for anything random in the comments in which she would use to create a short story. Its pretty hilarious and well written. I love it. You can check it out here.

Rambling Kori – Also one of my first few followers. Kori loves photography and poetry like I do, although I’m not really into photography and suck at it hahaha. A lot of her poems are humorous, but she also can dive deeply into some subjects as well. She also showcases some of her favorite blogs often, so is a great source to find new, interesting blogs to follow. Keep up the poetry and blogging girl 🙂

Puppy Doc – Puppydoc!! Although she’s been on a bit of a hiatus lately, she’s also an incredible poet, as well as a doctor! She posts lots on health and medicine which is extremely informative. Her poetry also is extremely beautiful! Sometimes it goes over my head though, but she certainly has a way with depicting beautiful imagery. Check her out!

Xenia Tran – Can’t say it is just Xenia because her lovely pooches Eivor and Pearl are major contributors of her blog, but she is also another talented poet. She mainly writes haikus, and posts some surreal photography with her dogs which is what inspires her poems!

Make It Ultra – Eric is currently writing his dissertation for psychology. He has loads of insightful advice on self improvement and relationships. I really enjoy and find myself in complete agreement with everything he posts. A great blog to follow for anyone, but for me specifically since my blog is all about self discovery and spiritual enlightenment.

Didi’s Art Design – Didi writes poetry and creates spectacular digital images for her poetry. Most of her writing is about spirituality as well. Glad we’ve become friends Didi.

Exotic Nita – One of the craziest blogs I follow! Nita writes some epic epic erotica which makes me red in the face from laughter because the way she writes is more comedic, but also has a way of seducing you like she seduces she talks to. She sure has a way to make you wanna come back for more!

Bel – Bel writes about different hiking trips in the southwest of the United States. Having grown up in Vegas she definitely makes me feel like I didn’t make the most of it. When I go home, hopefully later than sooner, I really want to try some of the trails she shows! Thanks for all your support Bel!

Manal – Manal’s blog is very insightful. I’m not really sure how I would describe her blog. Maybe her description is best, sensible nonsense (that was meant as a compliment). There is no real theme, but a lot of her writing is so genuine and relatable that I think we can all apply it to our own lives. I really love your blog, and thanks so much for your support on mine!

Yassy – Yassy uses a lot of references to space, stars, meditation, and yoga in her poetry. Very beautiful and has got me using more references to space in my own. Definitely recommend checking out her blog!!

My Questions to you!

1. What is your main inspiration as a writer. Which writers inspire you, and why do you write?

2. If you were stranded on an island with one thing what would it be?

3. If you could travel anywhere in the world right now where would you go?

4. What is more important to you, self-love or health?

5. If you had to eat a food every single meal for the rest of your life what would it be?

6. What is one thing you truly regret on a deeply profound level and wish you could change? Or are you at peace with everything?

7. What are you most grateful for in life?

Thanks again to LaRonda, and hope you’ve enjoyed this post 🙂

-Pharaoh

13 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Coolest! I’m so glad you got this award. You deserve it. It’s nice to have a variety of topics (which you do have)..it keeps it interesting. Thanks for your kind words about my blog and looking forward to reading more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulation, dear friend 🙂
    You surely have deserved it 🙂

    A small correction: I am a man – but no problem, important is: we all are human beings 🙂

    Thank you so much for your nomination and I kindly will answer and participate within the next few days (as I am always busy at weekends).

    Have a wonderful weekend and thanks one more time for awarding me 🙂
    Didi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations Sherif and I really enjoyed reading your answers. Thank you for the nomination, which is so very kind of you. We are an award free blog so please feel free to nominate someone else if you wish. Your smiles and visits are always more than award enough. Thank you again for thinking of us and we wish you a wonderful weekend. Much love from Eivor, Pearl and Xenia :o)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

